1917

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.51 / 5

User Rating User rating: 3.51

Based on 468 votes and 173 reviews


  • User rating: 3.51 45.91%
  • User rating: 3.51 13.64%
  • User rating: 3.51 6.82%
  • User rating: 3.51 12.73%
  • User rating: 3.51 20.91%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 173

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2020

I liked everything about this movie.

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2020

Wonderful re-creation of the battlefields of WWI and good story, incredibly shot.

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2020

Stunning cinematography and a gripping story line. A must see on the big screen!

User review rating: 4 March 07, 2020

Intense. Not what I expected. Hadn’t watched any previews.

User review rating: 1 March 06, 2020

Laughingly, solid boring.

User review rating: 4 March 06, 2020

This is a solid film - it is not quiet of the quality of a film like Saving Private Ryan but it is a film very much worth seeing. It was refreshing to see the attention to detail and not the normal distortions of history so common in today's films - it did a fine job of presenting WW1 as it was rather than providing a tapestry thought best for movie sales.

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2020

Great

User review rating: 5 March 03, 2020

I read very different reviews some make sense some do not. If the person was joking it's a bad joke and if the were serious then they are an idiot. Title "1917" not costumes of ww11 Nazi's. It moved well with amazing set design. Constant surprises showing the nightmare of world war I. Acting was great, excellent set design, excellent cinematography. It was like a nightmare that did not end. There was hope in the end for humanity and I like that.

User review rating: 1 March 01, 2020

Like any other was movie but without real .... can’t describe.

User review rating: 3 March 01, 2020

Movie seemed shallow on story. Theme centered almost entirely around one character with just glimpses of how he'd interact with other chacters briefly along his journey. Thought there'd more re: the history behind the war, etc. Apparently my expectations were off.

User review rating: 1 February 29, 2020

Nope for us even though we loved war movies.

User review rating: 5 February 29, 2020

I would suggest that those who rated this movie at one or two stars had expectations that the movie failed to deliver. It is not typical, that is for sure and shows the futility of WWI better than most. This is the real war - the grimy, uncomfortable, unsanitary conditions. Also, the tedium of wondering when, where, and how you would die. And the futility of composing the letters to loved ones at home, masking terror and trying to feign optimism. Finally, it is an absolute celebration of technical movie making!

User review rating: 5 February 29, 2020

Wow! There is so much you can talk about with this movie. There’s the amazing cinematography! The bold choice of making the movie look like one take. The the multitude of period accurate costumes. The miles of detailed set dressing. The fantastic cast, from the two leads to all the major players. The incredible special effects that were so good I couldn’t tell what was practical and what was CGI. It’s all tied together in an emotional satisfying and white-knuckle inducing stressful experience. And what do the people below praise it for? The fact that it doesn’t have any non-straight or non-white people in it. What is wrong with people? This the worst place to get a movie reviews.

User review rating: 1 February 29, 2020

No so great after all.

User review rating: 5 February 28, 2020

great movie - enjoyed it immensely

User review rating: 4 February 28, 2020

Made WW1 feel much more real and relatable to me. I was impressed the film avoid political correctness and showed what the English army really looked like during WW1. I have expected in the Hollywood of today to have shown a British platoon of WW1 being lead by a African American female LT with perhaps a few gay soldiers and dreamy poets... one can never tell what will get thrown ones way these days. Anyway, the story was decent but not fantastic. I recommend the film - it was not gory like I thought it might be.

User review rating: 4 February 28, 2020

Film makes you think on the stupidity of war and the trust that people put in following their governments directives even when it poorly serves the individual and nation to do so. A lesson to the young to avoid listening to the foolishness of 70 year olds in government and the places they can take 20 year old somethings into.

User review rating: 4 February 28, 2020

Solid film but not a masterpiece like Saving private Ryan. Well worth seeing but I would refrain from calling it great, just a solid film.

User review rating: 2 February 28, 2020

It was not really a war movie, more of a documentary

User review rating: 1 February 28, 2020

Well. No so great. Another money grabber to people who think a war movie is going to honor veterans.

User review rating: 1 February 28, 2020

You’d think with such a big budget they’d be able to afford another camera! Most movies cut back and forth with multiple camera angles. I don’t know if all these people giving these 5-stars reviews noticed, but this movie is all done in one shot. Obviously the director was too lazy to shoot scenes multiple times in order to get multiple angles. And too lazy to do any editing what so ever! How did no one at the oscars notice this? Clearly they don’t know much about movies. Also the Germans weren’t wearing the Nazi uniforms that they wore in World War II. Come on! Lack of research!

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2020

Blockbuster. Production values off the chart. Surprising twists and turns.

User review rating: 1 February 23, 2020

Lame.

User review rating: 1 February 22, 2020

No so great after all. How many veterans got help from this movie?

User review rating: 4 February 21, 2020

I really enjoyed this movie and I am not a huge fan of war movies. The story line and acting were very good. I I cried and it takes me a lot to cry in a movie so that goes to show how realistic the acting was. I stayed engaged the entire movie wondering what was going to happen next. I think it deserved best picture at the Golden Globes!

User review rating: 4 February 21, 2020

KEEPED ME GUESSING THE BEST MOVE SAW IN A LONG TIME. KIND OF LIKE THE MOVIE SAVING PRIVATE RIAN

User review rating: 1 February 21, 2020

Absolute crap!!

User review rating: 5 February 21, 2020

Authentic in its scenes, especially of the trenches. I enjoyed it, especially when one sees what is on TV.

User review rating: 2 February 18, 2020

Boring, silly, predictable and the settings were atrocious, the battle scenes typical ignorant Hollywooden liberal's idea of war. I barely made it to the end, then quickly deleted this POS off my hard drive.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2020

was like going back in time to war torn europe in 1917

User review rating: 1 February 18, 2020

Storyline was good; script was not. Very unrealistic, with pristine trenches, mowed and uncratered fields, unseen enemy, no artillery bombardment (which was heavily factored in WWI trench warfare), absence of noise, cries of wounded, drama. Highly touted, but saw no reason for all the hype. Very disappointing.

User review rating: 2 February 18, 2020

Very unrealistic. Just goes to show how hype is such a player in all things involving the twisting of the public mind. The main character should have worn a Superman cape instead of a WWI British uniform. Loses his gun and doesn't bother to pick up another even though surrounded by tons of dead soldiers and their discarded weapons? Gimmie a break!

User review rating: 2 February 18, 2020

NOT A WINNER NOT CLOSE.. BUT TWO LEAD ACTORS WERE GOOD. MOVIE INTENSE, MOSTLY THE MUSIC AND SOUND AFFECTS. A WEE BIT SLOW MOVING.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2020

Very well done.

User review rating: 1 February 17, 2020

This was not a real war movie, very fake. My grandfather and his brother, were in WWI. I have read their letters to their mom. This movie was a total let down.

User review rating: 1 February 17, 2020

It’s highly rated but I was really disappointed!

User review rating: 1 February 16, 2020

I was sorta expecting Saving Private Ryan, only in WWI.; Boy was I disappointed. Virtually no plot. Virtually no character development. Totally unbelievable happenings. Main character is apparently bulletproof. Really, the airplane just happens to crash land right where they are standing??? Baloney. Save your money.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2020

GREAT movie, it seams like you either like this movie or hate it. I think it has to do with the age group. I think these millennial weenies should have saved their money and went back to Oberlin collage and did some more finger painting. For and the rest of us that would like to see an earlier generation fight a war to end all wars go see the movie.

User review rating: 4 February 15, 2020

Well done movie, but incredibly sad.

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2020

did not like it, same old same old, guy running to save someone. Cinematography was best about the pic, but not an Oscar worthy film

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2020

Lousy story; not historical.

User review rating: 5 February 14, 2020

LOVED IT!! Worth checking out on the big screen.

User review rating: 5 February 14, 2020

This movie's cinematography and sets were incredibly well done and lent a unique feel to the movie (especially the cinematography). While seeing this movie remember that this is not an action movie but a drama set in the first world war. While there is action the action is not at the forefront of the movie. This movie is about sacrifice, heart and humanity in the midst of humanity at its worst.

User review rating: 1 February 13, 2020

Quite boring, my BF fell asleep and it was his pick!

User review rating: 5 February 12, 2020

Excellent movie, keeps you on your toes!!!

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2020

Zzzz seriously?

User review rating: 4 February 12, 2020

I liked it. The cinematography was excellent and the acting was also very good. Not an action packed war flick, so if you go in hoping for a "Black Hawk Down" experience, you will need to temper that thought. I didn't love the story, but overall this movie is worth seeing IMO.

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2020

I thought more about how 1917 is real POS. It for sure was not a war movie at all. More of a terribly made adventure movie. Terribly fake computer graphics. The story is a POS. So not real. The movie progressively gets worse and more unbelievable every second. I was thinking how stupid the scene is with the woman and the baby. Then the soldier pull out a canteen of milk. Please, this is comic book GARBAGE. To not waist your time or money on the 1917 POS. Go see They Shall Not Grow Old. Or better yet read a focking book.

User review rating: 1 February 11, 2020

Not a war movie. 1917 is an adventure movie. It is not a war movie. The movie is exciting but has little to do with WWI. I was hugely disappointed. Go see the excellent film, They Shall Not Grow Old.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2020

Did a great job in portraying the horror that was WW1. The story was compelling. Sad to think many apparently rate war films based on the count of explosions, death and gore. Each participant had their own story.

Change Location
* required!
* required!