1917

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.55 / 5

User Rating User rating: 3.55

Based on 388 votes and 141 reviews


  • User rating: 3.55 47.25%
  • User rating: 3.55 12.64%
  • User rating: 3.55 7.69%
  • User rating: 3.55 13.19%
  • User rating: 3.55 19.23%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 141

User review rating: 2 February 18, 2020

Very unrealistic. Just goes to show how hype is such a player in all things involving the twisting of the public mind. The main character should have worn a Superman cape instead of a WWI British uniform. Loses his gun and doesn't bother to pick up another even though surrounded by tons of dead soldiers and their discarded weapons? Gimmie a break!

User review rating: 2 February 18, 2020

Very unrealistic. Just goes to show how hype is such a player in all things involving the twisting of the public mind. The main character should have worn a Superman cape instead of a WWI British uniform. Loses his gun and doesn't bother to pick up another even though surrounded by tons of dead soldiers and their discarded weapons? Gimmie a break!

User review rating: 2 February 18, 2020

NOT A WINNER NOT CLOSE.. BUT TWO LEAD ACTORS WERE GOOD. MOVIE INTENSE, MOSTLY THE MUSIC AND SOUND AFFECTS. A WEE BIT SLOW MOVING.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2020

Very well done.

User review rating: 1 February 17, 2020

This was not a real war movie, very fake. My grandfather and his brother, were in WWI. I have read their letters to their mom. This movie was a total let down.

User review rating: 1 February 17, 2020

It’s highly rated but I was really disappointed!

User review rating: 1 February 16, 2020

I was sorta expecting Saving Private Ryan, only in WWI.; Boy was I disappointed. Virtually no plot. Virtually no character development. Totally unbelievable happenings. Main character is apparently bulletproof. Really, the airplane just happens to crash land right where they are standing??? Baloney. Save your money.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2020

GREAT movie, it seams like you either like this movie or hate it. I think it has to do with the age group. I think these millennial weenies should have saved their money and went back to Oberlin collage and did some more finger painting. For and the rest of us that would like to see an earlier generation fight a war to end all wars go see the movie.

User review rating: 4 February 15, 2020

Well done movie, but incredibly sad.

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2020

did not like it, same old same old, guy running to save someone. Cinematography was best about the pic, but not an Oscar worthy film

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2020

Lousy story; not historical.

User review rating: 5 February 14, 2020

LOVED IT!! Worth checking out on the big screen.

User review rating: 5 February 14, 2020

This movie's cinematography and sets were incredibly well done and lent a unique feel to the movie (especially the cinematography). While seeing this movie remember that this is not an action movie but a drama set in the first world war. While there is action the action is not at the forefront of the movie. This movie is about sacrifice, heart and humanity in the midst of humanity at its worst.

User review rating: 1 February 13, 2020

Quite boring, my BF fell asleep and it was his pick!

User review rating: 5 February 12, 2020

Excellent movie, keeps you on your toes!!!

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2020

Zzzz seriously?

User review rating: 4 February 12, 2020

I liked it. The cinematography was excellent and the acting was also very good. Not an action packed war flick, so if you go in hoping for a "Black Hawk Down" experience, you will need to temper that thought. I didn't love the story, but overall this movie is worth seeing IMO.

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2020

I thought more about how 1917 is real POS. It for sure was not a war movie at all. More of a terribly made adventure movie. Terribly fake computer graphics. The story is a POS. So not real. The movie progressively gets worse and more unbelievable every second. I was thinking how stupid the scene is with the woman and the baby. Then the soldier pull out a canteen of milk. Please, this is comic book GARBAGE. To not waist your time or money on the 1917 POS. Go see They Shall Not Grow Old. Or better yet read a focking book.

User review rating: 1 February 11, 2020

Not a war movie. 1917 is an adventure movie. It is not a war movie. The movie is exciting but has little to do with WWI. I was hugely disappointed. Go see the excellent film, They Shall Not Grow Old.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2020

Did a great job in portraying the horror that was WW1. The story was compelling. Sad to think many apparently rate war films based on the count of explosions, death and gore. Each participant had their own story.

User review rating: 1 February 11, 2020

Borrrring!!! Don't watch this! Waste of time!! Fell asleep zzzzzzzzz....

User review rating: 4 February 10, 2020

good movie if you like military drama about what goes on. more than just entertainment

User review rating: 1 February 09, 2020

Boring and unrealistic!

User review rating: 2 February 08, 2020

Big disappointment. Cant believe the Oscar buzz. One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Hard to believe this is rated 4 stars. I'm generous at 2 stars.

User review rating: 1 February 08, 2020

Lame movie. Just a movie maker.

User review rating: 1 February 08, 2020

Terrible movie in every way. Left early.

User review rating: 4 February 08, 2020

Acting,story.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2020

the almost real feeling of being a part pf the movie.... it will be oscar winner for sure(best movie)

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2020

It drew you into the characters.

User review rating: 3 February 06, 2020

I had high expectations from all the 5 star reviews, but I could also see the point of view of the low star reviews. Parts were very well done, and other parts seemed under-developed. Will not see this movie again.

User review rating: 4 February 06, 2020

they finally got it right

User review rating: 2 February 06, 2020

Slow and boring,,some parts did not seem to make sense, not what you would expect on a war movie. Good cinematography though.Not worth a Golden Globe. Money WASTED !!!!

User review rating: 2 February 06, 2020

Too many events not believable. Ending uninspired. Expected much more from a Golden Globe winner.

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2020

Beautiful movie for grown-ups. Sam Mendes always delivers as a top notch producer/director. It is our past, young lives that died for noble causes something this world should never lose sight up. Also, the realities and horror of wars on humankind.

User review rating: 2 February 05, 2020

Some pretty ridiculously stupid situations. Great environmental effects, but the situations are just not believable. Terrible plot development.

User review rating: 3 February 05, 2020

Good movie, not a true story, but some facts of the time, make it worth seeing

User review rating: 4 February 05, 2020

I loved the movie. Hardly any swearing. I wish we had more movies that tell about history, even if the story line is fiction. The casting was excellent. I love that there was no unnecessary swearing or sex.

User review rating: 3 February 05, 2020

The promos were the best part of this movie. I expected so much more and left disappointed. The sets were excellent, while the plot was weak. Save your money and rent it.

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2020

very real in is reveling the truth about war and how it can end a life so fast. also it shows that leaders don't know every thing about the other side they will be fighting. In the fight from 1967 to 1971.

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2020

understanding the realness of war. not everything is a Rambo movie.

User review rating: 1 February 04, 2020

THis si terrafebel

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2020

a war movie with heart

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2020

Brilliant, engrossing film. Moves fast, you have to keep up. Unique filmmaking style. Based on true stories. Hope it wins many Oscars.

User review rating: 2 February 03, 2020

Stupid premise. Not much action as war movies go.

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2020

An original take on the first world war. Truly mesmerizing. Finally a movie that breaks the confounds of recreation and the already-been-seen.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2020

Absolutely amazing!! The intensity of this movie is unbelievable. I loved every aspect of it and really hope it gets the Oscar for picture and director, and as many others the Academy can throw at it. What a pleasure to watch and purchasing the bluray is a definite for me.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2020

The viewer has to be willing to let the movie unfold as its own story, not the bomb thrower spectacle that "Saving Private Ryan" was. This movie is paced as if we were with the army in 1917. It's a chance to slow down and immerse in a another time, another sense of war. It is a chance to notice and experience some of our heritage, our ancestors way of life. If you want a fuller sense of what it was like to be a WWI soldier, with the many small but beautiful intimate moments of our humanity, this is a wonderful film. It must be taken on its own terms rather than imposing the speed of technology that rushes us on a daily basis. Happy viewing!

User review rating: 1 February 02, 2020

Boring.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2020

Excellent movie! Very well done. Original, well shot, and very suspenseful all the way through. I highly recommend it.

User review rating: 2 January 31, 2020

BORING!

Change Location
* required!
* required!